Back Home


Back on my old patch at the moment and it’s quite an eventful weekend for me. This morning the first copies of my new chapbook 16 Poem(a)s winged their way to me from Merseyside, courtesy of Alec Newman from Knives, Forks and Spoons Press. This bilingual English-Galician edition of poems has taken me some time to put together, with thanks to the Galician language poet, Eduardo Estévez, for his collaboration and advice on the translations. I’m also very pleased with the ‘clean presentation’ of this edition and the simple mostly white look, which I think befits these poems.

I am looking forward to appearing on Smith on Sunday on the community radio station Mearns FM. I plan to read a couple of these poems along with one or two new ones and snippets of prose work. I will also be choosing some of my favourite music and chatting a bit about that. I don’t know about anyone else but I’m looking forward to that more than the readings. It’s long been a dream of mine to share my ‘Desert Island Discs’ on the radio. Here’s a sample of the kind of thing you can expect to hear from 2-3pm tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

